Put a Smile on Your Face…Make the World a Better Place


For this week’s blog post, I wanted to come up with something really simple and seemingly trivial that I really thought could make a difference in the world one person at a time.  What I came up with was this: smile and say hello.

Now, maybe that sounds stupid.  Or maybe my Midwestern mentality painfully shines through by suggesting that people smile and say hi to strangers, but I really do think it can make a difference.  Every time somebody I don’t know takes a moment to acknowledge and greet me, or when I do the same to somebody else, I really think the innate warmth of human nature is reflected in the eyes of both of us.  In this day and age of impersonal technological communication, I think it would be great if more people could be reminded of the value of simple human interaction, especially with someone that’s not a close friend or family member.  Let’s be honest.  We’ve all had those times when we’ve inadvertently locked eyes with a complete stranger while passing him/her.  All I’m saying is rather than turning away and thinking about how awkward that eye contact was, why not just smile and say, “Hi”? Embrace the weird moment.  Maybe they’ll think you’re crazy (like if they’re from New York) or maybe they’ll love it.  Who cares?  Outside of bubbles like Bucknell/Lewisburg, you’ll probably never run into that person again.  Might as well make a good first and last impression, right?

And if you don’t buy it from me, maybe you’ll enjoy it more in musical form.

8 thoughts on “Put a Smile on Your Face…Make the World a Better Place

  1. I love this post. I completely agree with it as well. There was this teacher at my high school and his son committed suicide. Ever since that experience, Mr. Eaton stood at the front door of the school and energetically greeted every single person who walked through the door. He believed that something as little as a smile, as someone acknowledging you, can be the difference between life and death.

  2. NIce post, Alyssa. Holding doors for people, saying thank you to people who make your food at the Bison, all of those little things are what can improve peoples days. Especially at Bucknell where we all know who people are but don’t necessarily know them personally – a hello can be that simple step to meeting a new friend.

  3. I agree. This post hit home for me. It is amazing what a simple smile can do for others. Whether it is making a new friend for yourself or changing someone’s day, smiling can do wonders for others. Furthermore, I think laughter might be the best part of life.

  4. I agree with everyone above, I think saying hello and smiling people is a little thing that can go a long way. In a lot of ways it just humanizes people and generally leads to more discussion in the future. Plus seeing others in a positive mood tends to put me in a good mood as well.

  5. I definitely agree with this post. Just doing something as simple as smiling can turn someone’s day around. It is a simple action that can sincerely impact someone else for the better.

  6. Yawns are contagious. So are smiles.

    One of the best things I learned about teaching is that attitude FOLLOWS behavior. See, people often say to kids “change your attitude.” What works better is to change behavior first. The Cartesian illusion we continue to live with is the assumption that the mind controls the body. The relationship is more dynamic.

    Alyssa’s post gets at this. If you smile FIRST, then you will be in a better mood. Forcing yourself into a better mood first so you can smile ignores the body-mind dynamic.

    I ❤ Vitamin C.

  7. Yap, can’t agree with you more, Jordi. If I see someone and smile to him/her, most of the time, I get the mirror effect. If I just ignore, the same comes back. Just a smile and there is nothing really to lose!

Leave a Reply

