UNPLUG for 1 hour a day


We are constantly connected to technology at all points during the day, especially the younger generation. Of course there are many benefits and drawbacks to this new dependency on technology. I am admittedly a very devoted technology lover and use it in all aspects of my life, from school work to social life. In this age of information overload, we must accept that there is no turning back from technology and we are more than excited to embrace cool new ideas, apps, websites, and other innovations. However, this age of excessive information can also be overwhelming. Technology has helped people communicate more easily and served as many different types of entertainment, from social media sites to reality tv series. We have all heard the now somewhat dated term “crack-berry” for people attached to their blackberries (is there a new one for iPhones?). There is even a diagnosed phobia of being without your cellphone, called nomophobia.

If people just unplugged from technology—tv, cell phone, computer, etc—for one hour a day, I think our world would be a better place. If people cooked a healthy dinner instead of microwaving a frozen dinner and eating in front of the tv, or if people read a book in replace of spending time on social media sites, our brains would be more active and our eyes less glazed over. There are potential health impacts for staring at a digital screen for too many hours a day, which could be aided by unplugging for just an hour. Today there are so many technology distractions around us that we are tempted to succumb to playing video games or watching another episode of that tv show instead of working out, doing household chores, or simply spending true alone time. Maybe people would have more time exercise, get outside, find new hobbies, or spend time interacting (in person!) with others. I think that if all people unplugged from technology for just an hour a day, society would overall be a happier place.

8 thoughts on “UNPLUG for 1 hour a day

  1. I agree with this 100%. Although technology has changed the world and made us more connected, it has also driven us apart in many ways. We call instead of visit, text instead of call, email instead of text, and (lowest of the low) linkedin instead of email.

  2. I wrote about the same overuse of technology, but focused more on the effects technology has on obesity. I think its important to realize that although technology is important. most of us cant remember what life was like without having a cell phone at all times. That being said, going without technology for a couple hours is refreshing and almost liberating.

  3. love this idea and i completely agree that we overuse technology. I recently went to the book store to stock up on some new books to read because I personally think I spend way too much time in front of the computer screen. Technology just creates more stress in our lives I think. I know when I go on vacation or am in some location where I don’t have internet access on my phone, I feel a sense of relief. Just to feel completely disconnected from the world is like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders.

  4. I would love to be able to do this…I’ve tried, but every time I put down the phone/laptop I start getting antsy and wondering if I’m missing something important. I would definitely be less stressed out if I unplugged for a bit.

  5. i agree with this post. technology ruins human interaction, plus gives us a lot of extra responsibility of checking all our communication outlets. i wish i lived in the ’80s

  6. In theory, this sounds like such a great idea. I’m with Steph, though. Unplugging makes me feel so disconnected from the world. I guess that’s the point, but it would definitely be tough for me.

Leave a Reply

