The fight like soliders. They die like children.


Although I did include a photo in my original post, there are so many other images that express the horror of children involvement in warfare. I think what remains the most striking, especially in the above photo that I found on Google images, is the dichotomy between the innocence of a child and threatening implications of a gun. A child wielding a firearm that is as tall, if not taller, as he stands is just disturbing.

This image was also found using Google images – and beings about an important question that I hope to address in my White Paper – whether the information presented in the Kony 2012 video, in which rebel armies using child soldiers have been brought into the public eye, is accurate, exaggerated, or underplayed.

4 thoughts on “The fight like soliders. They die like children.

  1. TAGS. CATEGORY. Can you tell where, when this photo is from? If not, how do we know it relates to child soldiers? i don’t know all the particulars to Kony 2012, but it sounds interesting. Overall, however, don’t loose sight that child soldiers is a real issue.

  2. I am a fan of the second photo, since it totally targets me. I remember the first time I saw the Kony video I was completely in shock. I remember being consumed by the cause and wanting to help in any way possible. Then I talked to my brother, who is very matter of fact. He pretty much called me out much like the image above did. It definitely made me take a step back and rethink the whole operation.

  3. I think it’s really cool that you will be analyzing the truth behind the whole Kony 2012 drama that came about after it was released last year. It will be really interesting to try to come up with an unbiased view of your own.

  4. I’m always a fan of Condescending Wonka! The first image was a bit of a punch in the gut though, great choice.

Leave a Reply

