..But what if my job doesn’t want to go to China?


It was actually pretty easy finding pictures about outsourcing labor. The hard part was limiting which ones I could post about. I really became attracted to the topic of outsourcing labor and whether or not it is considered economically beneficial. I have found a lot of information regarding the pros and cons and feel like I’m pretty ready to tackle the issue. The first picture I chose was from a worker strike in 2007 against Disney World in Orlando Florida. Contractors from Disney World were accused of firing hundreds of employees and replacing them with illegal immigrants. They have also been hiring outside companies to do jobs that were originally given to current workers and getting rid of their jobs left and right. Six unions banded together outside of Disney World’s gates and 29,000 members raised awareness of the outsourcing of labor that Disney has been involved in. I was definitely surprised to see that Disney was a part of the outsourcing labor phenomena and I will most likely be using this example as part of my white paper. The final picture I found, I couldn’t resist posting. Thanks to google images once again, I came across a dozen of hilarious pictures about the topic of outsourcing. This one was my particular favorite.  It’s amazing how the addition of the word “humor” to a current search bar search can change the types of images that come up. You have to love cartoon humor.

2 thoughts on “..But what if my job doesn’t want to go to China?

  1. I thought the cartoon you included was pretty funny. We see the impact of outsourcing so often that we are almost becoming jaded to it. Even the magic of Christmas isn’t sacred.

  2. Um, outsourcing to illegal immigrants is, um, illegal? How could Disney have “gotten away” with that? I am not doubting it per se, just want more info.

Leave a Reply

