White Paper Proposal 1 – Human Trafficking


For my White Paper, I want to look at the policies surrounding Human Trafficking, both within the United States and world-wide. Human trafficking is the illegal trade of humans for the primary purpose of sexual exploitation or forced labor. It is a form of modern day slavery and affects every country. Human trafficking is one of the fastest and largest growing criminal industries.

The possible audience for my White Paper, at this moment, would be the head decision makes in each of the countries. At this point, I am considering the United Nations since they have a presence in each country and the resources to create change within the different countries, or at least create awareness.

In order to understand what needs to be done, I am looking into understanding the current legislation and policies already in place. So far, I have explored the European Union External Action website. This site examines the different policies in place which protects the victims and punishes the offenders. I have also stumbled upon a website called Humantrafficking.org which discusses the primary countries responsible for trafficking people in and out of the different countries. From what the website says, one of the biggest offenders is China. I have still been unable to find information on the different policies in China, but will continue to research further. So far, I have been using google and google scholar to find information. I think the quality of the sources that I have found so far is very good. Both of the sources I have found so far have been .gov or .org sites. They give both sides of the story. For example, the European Commission site discusses why the European Union needs to take action and the action that they are taking.

Important information I have found so far:

  • By 2020 there could be over 24 million people in China involved, in some way, with trafficking
  • Countries within the European Union show human trafficking growing as one of the largest crimes
  • Men, women, and children are being trafficked
  • The United States is primarily a transit and destination country for trafficking while countries like China and Eastern Europe are countries where people are being initially taken in “slavery”
  • The US Congress issued a Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000

While I do not have clear knowledge about the various policies, these are some of the recommendations I have so far:

  • Consistent laws across countries
  • More severe punishment for traffickers
  • Focusing on the source countries instead of the destination countries

One problem I am still having is figuring out how to focus on the encouraging sustainable entrepreneurship in my paper. Should I focus on how human trafficking takes jobs and money away from other legitimate companies and organizations? Or from the entrepreneurship side of the trafficker?

4 thoughts on “White Paper Proposal 1 – Human Trafficking

  1. Heather, within the last year CNN.com ran a long running set of stories about modern day slavery. I read a bunch of them over the summer while I was bored at work and I think they could really help your paper. Worth looking into.

  2. What happened to your post? I also have older student papers that look into this.

    One government source might be to see if there are any government documents that stufy the effectiveness of this law: ” The US Congress issued a Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000″ which is now 12 years old.

    Sustainable entrepreneurship in trafficking? WTH do you mean?

  3. I am not sure what is wrong with my post, it has happened before on other posts I have made…maybe it is something with my computer? I meant, how should I address the question about sustainable entrepreneurship in the White Paper guidelines. I am not saying sustainable entrepreneurship in trafficking, which I why I was confused about how to address that question.

Leave a Reply

