This vacation is gonna be da bomb… BOMB?!


Having just flown back from fall break, airport security was, of course, the first thing on my mind.  Flying has always been a part of my life. I was a premiere member on United Airlines at the age of 8 thanks to divorced parents and cross-country travel. I flew before 9/11. I flew 2 weeks after 9/11. And oh boy was there a difference. I remember thinking to myself, what could I, a 3’8 foot tall freckle-faced 9 year-old possibly do? Why are they searching my backpack? Don’t show my teddy bear to the world!

But more so, my step dad, who never used to be searched, all of a sudden had to be patted down every time we went through security. He’s half Saudi Arabian, half American and therefore has slightly brown coloring. But is this reason for him to be repeatedly searched in airport security? Does this seem racist to anyone else?

I’m all for national protection and understand that airport security is vital to ensuring the safety of airline passengers across the globe. Although searching without a warrant seems to go against the Fourth Amendment, it was made legal when, “Citing threats of terrorism, the court ruled passengers give up all rights to be free of warrantless searches once a ‘passenger places hand luggage on a conveyor belt for inspection’ or ‘passes though a magnetometer’”.

But maybe TSA officials have taken it too far. One white officer at Boston International Airport shared, “They just pull aside anyone who they don’t like the way they look — if they are black and have expensive clothes or jewelry, or if they are Hispanic.”

Maybe this post doesn’t explain a law that is unfair but instead presents an opportunity where NOT having a law is unfair. For a country that prides itself on being a melting pot… a country that embraces racial equality… it horrifies me that racial profiling in airports remains a problem.

6 thoughts on “This vacation is gonna be da bomb… BOMB?!

  1. I agree that some of the new airline security measures seem extensive and sometimes pointless. This fall break, I accidentally forgot about the plastic water bottle in my bag. This slip required me to go to the bathroom, dispose of my liquid, and then join the back of the security line again–quite a process. Additionally, the new body-scanners have caused a lot of controversy as well due to personal body violations. Although all of these measures are in place to make all of us safer in the long run, I honestly think that if someone truly wanted to get something controversial on the plane, they could.

  2. I’ve never had so much trouble with airport security than I’ve had leaving London for Austria. I probably spent 30 mins with the woman who picked through my toiletries and made me throw away soap and toothpaste (toothpaste!) not because they were over the size limit, but because they did not fit in the tiny, required zip lock baggy. Didn’t she have more important things to do with her time? I get that she’s trying to keep the airport safe, but is spending an excessive amount of time reprimanding me for toothpaste really an efficient use of your time?

  3. One article in specific came to my mind when I read this post. A few years ago I heard a story about an elderly women having to remove her diaper in order to make it through airport security. While I do believe that airport security is in place in order for our own safety, I do think there is a point where security can go too far.

    Here is the link to the article I was talking about: http://www.nola.com/politics/index.ssf/2011/06/elderly_woman_has_to_remove_di.html

Leave a Reply

