What did you call me?


I am going to start off with my political background and history. Basically that consists of a large black hole. I have never really been interested in politics probably because I know nothing about it. When I was 18 and had my license renewed I reluctantly told the DMV lady “Sure I guess I’ll register” because it had ONLY taken an hour for my license this time. I registered independent mainly because that is what my parents are and seemed like a cop out. This may have been the issue all along is that my parents and family never really talked much about politics and I would not be surprised if my parents even voted in the past election.It probably wasn’t until my Sophomore year here that I decided maybe I should care about politics because no matter what career I go into, it will affect me in some way or another. I had a close friend that was really into politics and sometimes would bring it up so I recently have tried to be up to date (bare minimum) on the running parties and their views. I have come to find much like this survey that I still am pretty much an independent because I don’t agree with many issues on both sides.

I took the second survey and it told me that I am a “Post Modern”. I’m guessing that means as little to you all as it did to me so here is what that entails.

  • Generally supportive of government, though more conservative on race policies and the safety net
  • Strongly supportive of regulation and environmental protection
  • Most (56%) say Wall Street helps the economy more than it hurts
  • Very liberal on social issues, including same-sex marriage
  • One of the least religious groups: nearly a third are unaffiliated with any religious tradition
  • Favor the use of diplomacy rather than force

Yeah. Some of this stuff I would agree that I believe in but then again some of it is completely false (I’m pretty religious). But even if I am a post modern, from what I know about conservatives and liberals this typology seems all over the place. Which I guess suits how I see myself in the realm of politics. So maybe I was as right as I ever will be that day at the DMV, but I am interested to see how the next ten years shapes me. Do people end up right or left, or am I doomed to a life of political uncertainty?

 

7 thoughts on “What did you call me?

  1. I took the same survey and most of the descriptions do not quite right. I guess, it is because I am not an American, and the survey is targeted towards an American. But it looks like it doesn’t work for you as well. So, it looks like the survey makers have built in a lot of assumptions and over-generalizations to the responses.

  2. ROnjohn, I can relate. My parents never talked about politics when I was growing up, and now I feel so behind in the issues compared to my peers. Like you, I don’t know what I would identify myself with. I guess we can just stay open minded for now, and learn as we grow, although we are behind.

  3. I think you and Austin provide a great comparison that is useful for analyzing how people’s political views are molded. Even though many of us will say we possess our own views, I strongly believe that the views of our families and parents have at least some effect. Since your parents, though, were not strictly one wing or the other, you’re entering the political atmosphere pretty much completely uninfluenced. You could easily start identifying with republican views, democratic views, or potentially just stay independent like your parents have chosen to.

  4. I am not sure why you and so many people think you have to pass some sort of knowledge test before you are allowed to have a stake in politics. Look, for better or for worse, the nature of our system is you get to vote and participate in other ways. Knowing who won PA-10 in 1984 is not a litmus test that means anything.

    Give yourself a break.

    Also, independent is not a label that means uncertain. I’m ok, you’re ok. đŸ™‚

  5. Ronjohn, I have a very similar political background (or lack thereof) as you do. I have limited knowledge of the political system and, in some cases, am not even really sure which side of the issues the two major parties support. The quizzes helped with this to some degree, but still leave me slightly confused. In regards to your question, I do believe that political uncertainty or at least lack of a permanent “party” is going to become more of a trend. It seems that an increasing number of people do not fully support one party on ALL relevant issues; thus, I think that it will become more acceptable to not formally align yourself with one particular party and remain in the realm of “political uncertainty.”

  6. There is a long-term trend towards LESS party identification. That is one reason why campaigns are more about media marketing than building on the ground organizations.

Leave a Reply

