Virgil Goode…


When it comes to my family, politics has never been an issue we discussed. It never caused heated debates at the dinner table and never caused fights among family members. It was always a non-issue. So where do I stand? I like to think of myself as an independent, I do not connect fully with either the liberal or conservative ends of the spectrum. But then again, I have never been one to follow politics to begin with. I thought it would be interesting to take a few of the quizzes and see where I ended up…

The “Shortest Quiz” has categorized me as a libertarian. From just ten questions, this website can deduce that “[I] support maximum liberty in both personal and economic matters. [I] advocate a much smaller government; one that is limited to protecting individuals from coercion and violence. [I] tend to embrace individual responsibility, oppose government bureaucracy and taxes, promote private charity, tolerate diverse lifestyles, support the free market, and defend civil liberties.” Surprising, I actually agree with the results. But can this quiz tell me who to vote for in the election? Great, I am a libertarian, but who do I vote for? I figured the answer to this question could be found in Quiz number 2…

The second quiz I took was the “You Compared to all 8 Presidential Candidates.” I figured this would be the quiz that would help steer me in the right direction…except for one slight problem. My answers most closely related with Virgil Goode. Once again, I am not one to follow, discuss, or focus on politics so I have no idea who this man is. Once again, I found my results interesting but not fulfilling.

The final quiz labeled me as Post-Modern—along with 13% of the population. Apparently I use social media, leave on the east coast, and am under the age of 30. I also believe (according to my post-modern label) that Wall Street helps more than it hurts, that I am liberal on social issues, and that I want to help the environment. Once again, my quiz results are true, but I am also starting to realize these quizzes are telling me things I already know. I know where I stand on certain issues, but I am not exactly sure where the presidential candidates stand or what they are going to do once they get into office.

After taking these quizzes I have realized two things: 1) I am a post-modern libertarian and 2) I need to start learning more about politics.

2 thoughts on “Virgil Goode…

  1. I completely sympathize with your political apathy/ignorance/ whatever you want to call it. I took that same quiz and found out that I should vote for Joe Biden. I didn’t even know he was running…oops. I sort of just assumed that the quiz would tell me to vote for either Obama or Romney, just because those are the only 2 you ever hear about. Overall, I don’t think that quiz was too helpful haha

  2. Since I cannot write in my guy, Ron Paul (I live in OH), I went on a search for someone that has the same values and ideas. I really checked out everyone on the ballot, including write-ins, and you are a good fit. I just wish I knew about you sooner so I could share with others.

Leave a Reply

