And the winner is…


As far as I’m concerned, the most useful thing to come out of tonight’s presidential debate was this:

The political quiz labeled me post-modern, and for the most part, I agree with the label. I’m generally supportive of the government, regulations, and environmental protection, I’m very liberal on social issues, I’m not overly-religious, and I believe in diplomacy. All in all, I’m fine with the most-modern title.

I follow politics, and I would like to think that I’m relatively well-informed about what is happening in our country, and was looking forward to this evenings debate. I was not impressed. I know who I want to vote for, but I was curious if the opposing candidate would make any points that would sway my decision. However, far from influencing my opinion, I found myself utterly bored, wandering in and out of the room, listening for five minutes and then tuning Obama and Romney out. Neither man said anything that I found particularly convincing, nothing that changed the way I intend to vote. I couldn’t help wondering how swing-voters, people who are undecided about their vote, viewed the debate. Did they get more out of it than I did? Were they swayed one way or the other? I tried to put myself in the mindset of such a person, and I just couldn’t find either candidate convincing.

How much impact do the debates really have? The majority of Americans vote in accordance with their political affiliation, regardless of the candidate. Romney claims that there are 47% of Americans who will always vote Democratic. If that is true, what incentives can be offered to sway undecided voters? Do they vote according to one specific issue, or based on which candidate they would want to have a beer with? It sounds terrible, but I feel that tonight’s debate wasn’t particularly useful. Until the candidates are willing to put concrete plans out in the open, it’s all just semantics.

Also, someone should tell Jim Lehrer that the regular officials are back…he was up past his bedtime.

4 thoughts on “And the winner is…

  1. I am very amused with the game. Though if anyone actually played it, I may be endorsing unhealthy levels of consumption.

    Also, that is one hell of a tag… I didn’t mind that they ran rough shod over Lehrer. I’d rather see them debate each other than color inside the lines to make the moderator happy.

    • I didn’t particularly mind it either, it was certainly more interesting than if the candidates had been overly-cordial. I just found the complete ineffectiveness of Lehrer amusing.

  2. I thought that Lehrer did a good job of prying for rebuttals, but also got steamrolled by the two candidates. That being said, it has got to be pretty hard to look into the eyes of the President of the United States and tell him to shut up.
    Personally I think the debate was one sided, with Romney effectively putting Obama in a corner and making him play defense all night. Im sure it was the president’s original plan to play it cool, but I dont think he expected Romney to come out so aggressively. Obama definitely looked uncomfortable, and was pausing a lot more than usual. I think that if he doesn’t have a good debate in two weeks, the polls could slide in the other direction.

  3. I agree with you Steph when you say that you weren’t very impressed. Since this weeks blog topic was about politics, I actually made an effort to sit through the entire debate. I, as well, was expecting more. If anything, watching the debate showed me the importance of confidence while publicly speaking. Romney was giving off a solid vibe- he sounded confident when he spoke and always had a pleasant look of his face. Obama, on the other hand, looked uncomfortable and out of it. Come one Obama, step it up… I wanted to see some claws out.

Leave a Reply

