Raging Hippies


Based on your responses, YOU are a…  

Solid Liberal

Along with 14% of the public

Big surprise… I’m sure. Growing up five minutes from Berkeley, CA will do that to a person. @Foster is probably rolling his eyes as he reads this. Although my results were not surprising to me, it was nice to have verification that my assumptions were correct.

Nevertheless, lately I have really been struggling to define my political views. Socially liberal? Definitely. But financially liberal? That’s a whole other matter.

I have become increasingly frustated with the growing distance between Republican and Democrat. It seems to me that there is not a party that I feel adequately represents my position as a voter with what some might call moderate views. While I 100% support the liberal position on social issues like gay rights and abortion, I find myself edging towards a more moderate stance on fiscal responsibility.

So where are these voters supposed to go? I feel like we must choose which is more important between social values and economic issues just in order to cast a vote. There’s no “Best of both worlds.” I had a similar discussion this summer during my internship and most of my fellow interns agreed… the two parties are becoming too extreme. Not to mention that when there is such a strong divide among the political parties – a Republican House and a Democratic Senate – nothing gets accomplished either way. I know this is just the most cliche hippie dippy thing I could ever say, but can’t we all just be friends?

Maybe a restructuring of the two party system is in order? What are the benefits of a two party system? The downfalls? Thoughts?

9 thoughts on “Raging Hippies

  1. I too feel the vast divide between republican and democratic positions. The quizzes provide us with a nice neat label we can classify ourselves as but don’t help to solve the underlying problem. I cannot vote for a person who represents this sub-classification because they either don’t exist or never it make it to the final vote. I took the final quiz and it told me that the candidate I was most similar too only had 25% of the same opinions as me–not to mention I had never even heard his name throughout this whole race. Excepting to only be 25% happy seems like a pretty grave settlement.

  2. GRAH! It deleted my comment. #&#&$*(&(!

    More or less.

    Smash the two party system!

    Washington, in his farewell address, excoriated the idea of parties. They ain’t in the constitution. Here is one choice bit:

    “Without looking forward to an extremity of this kind (which nevertheless ought not to be entirely out of sight), the common and continual mischiefs of the spirit of party are sufficient to make it the interest and duty of a wise people to discourage and restrain it.

    It serves always to distract the public councils and enfeeble the public administration. It agitates the community with ill-founded jealousies and false alarms, kindles the animosity of one part against another, foments occasionally riot and insurrection. It opens the door to foreign influence and corruption, which finds a facilitated access to the government itself through the channels of party passions. Thus the policy and the will of one country are subjected to the policy and will of another. “

  3. I also sympathize with your struggle of deciding between two political parties. I think that especially in our younger generation there are many social liberals who do not completely fit the mold of overall Democrat. I think Jordi makes an interesting point in that the two party system should be perhaps be re-thought. Most countries, especially in Europe, have more than a two party political system. And although I think it is an interesting idea for the United States to think about, I highly doubt there will be any stray from our two-party system any time in the near future.

  4. I was always curious as to why the U.S. only maintains a 2 party system. Of the little bit of international politics that I have studied, I know that many European countries have multiple political parties that span the spectrum between hard core democrat and staunch republicans. I do not know if this is any more effective than our system, but I do know that I would be helpful, as a voter, to have a better idea of where our Presidential candidates lie on this spectrum. Maybe the American public is too attention deficit (or too lazy?) to really examine more than two candidates.

  5. Each election year, the candidates claim to be looking to the future… preparing for the future of America… Creating a brighter future for the youth of tomorrow. Nevertheless, I think the older generations are just set in their ways. On the other hand, young professionals are often thought to be innovative with their ideas. Should we expect the current government to set aside what they know so well in order to help us move forward as a nation? When our time comes, will we be willing to make the changes to demand now? Or will we be convinces that their way is effective afterall?

  6. I agree with your thought that a lot of people can not affiliate with the right or left because some arguments on both sides sounds reasonable, but others (on both sides) seem ludicrous. I’ve been trying to think of an alternative to the two party system, but it seems like any effort to moderate political ferocity on either side would make a candidate look like they are a “flip flopper” or don’t stand their ground.

    • Yes, I find the insistence in political culture that to change your mind is a character defect kind of bizarre. Emerson said “…a foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds.” Emphasis on foolish consistency.

Leave a Reply

