What would Ira say…


And when Apple would call journalists who had spoken to me, and tell them, “You know, I don’t know if you want to be associated with him. He’s kind of unstable. You know, he does work in the theater.”

I would keep my head down. And I would tell my story.

And tonight—we know the truth.

Ira Glass:

The truth? The truth is that you lied. We trusted you. We trusted you to come on our program and share what you had learned on your visit to Foxconn. And you lied! You flat. out. lied. And you knew it, the whole time. What kind of person does that? Did you feel any sense of guilt in doing that?

Yes, we made a mistake in letting you on our show. And yes, we should have been suspicious from the very beginning when you said there was no way to contact your translator in China.

But how hard is it to tell the truth! Working in the theater is not a valid excuse. Because you knew. You knew you were expected to tell the truth on This American Life, and you knew you were lying. And now, you’ve embarrassed me, you’ve embarrassed my coworkers, and, most of all, you’ve embarrassed yourself.

5 thoughts on “What would Ira say…

  1. This definitely makes me feel bad for Ira Glass- like Jenna said it does sound very realistic. I’m sure when Ira first heard the performance he was excited about the story and about the dialogue that it would create. Probably the last thing he thought would happen would be to find out that it was all a lie. It’s sad that he had to get involved and apologize to the public for Mike’s actions.

  2. I also wrote an interruption from Ira Glass’s perspective, but I love that yours has an angrier tone than mine. You acknowledge the mistakes that “This American Life” made, but still reflect the anger and embarrassment that we heard in the “Retraction” very well.

  3. I love the harshness of your interruption! I think sometimes it is hard to remember that Mike Daisy almost completely fabricated his story, since a lot of his information is correct in some way or another. Still, he presented it on a news radio show as legitimate information, which is completely unacceptable!

Leave a Reply

