The Name’s Jobs……Steve Jobs..


I’m sorry, but what is your name? Mike is it? Well Mike, I’m sure you know who I am. I’m known as one of the world’s greatest visionaries. Some call me “Father of the Digital Revolution, but personally I prefer “Master of Innovation.” I’ve tried to remain quiet throughout this whole charade of lies and exaggeration, but I really feel like I need to take a moment to applaud you on an outstanding performance. I find it humorous how much you think you know about me and my Company, which is why this little monologue of yours can be described as nothing but theatrical. Now Mike, do you really think I would say something like “Gosh Foxconn is a factory but it’s not like any factory we’ve ever seen. It has swimming pools and movie theaters—it’s amazing.” I’m Steve Jobs, Godfather of the Apple Company. Do you think I would be stupid enough to think that conditions like this are even possible in third world countries? The reputation you give me really saddens me, but I do appreciate all of your purchases of apple products. How are you enjoying that new Ipad of yours?

I’m not angry with you Mike for trying to singly handedly destroy the connection Apple has with its users. I actually admire your determination. However, the first role of business ethics is not to say anything you can’t back up with hard evidence. You think I don’t know what goes on at Foxconn? I’m in business with them Mike. If I’m known as one of the most legendary businessmen of all time, you think I would do business with a company that could potentially ruin the one I have worked all my life to build? I’m not saying factory work is glamorous Mike, but horrible enough to commit suicide on work territory? I’m familiar with some aspects of theater myself, and your “first-hand experience” traveling to Hong-Kong was unjustly set in a dark and atrocious tone when you described the opening scene of the city as a wretched hive of scum and villainy. Your amateur description goes to show that you haven’t traveled to that many places if you think Shenzhen is the worst you’ve ever experienced. Perhaps you can use your Iphone to book a ticket to explore a new factory. Preferably one not involved with Apple. As much as your stories amuse me, you’re wasting my time Mike. Work on your research skills while I continue making history.

Image

3 thoughts on “The Name’s Jobs……Steve Jobs..

  1. Great picture and great post. I really liked the condescending attitude Jobs has against a Daisy. If you take away all of daisy’s ridiculous claims, it sounds like working in a foxconn factory wouldn’t be much different than working in any other factory.

  2. I completely agree with what Joe said. The condescending attitude you gave to Jobs made Daisey seem inexperienced, unprofessional, and a phony. If this interruption had actually happened, I doubt Mike Daisey’s monolog would have ever gone viral.

  3. Pingback: Interruption – Steve Jobs Speaks | Business, Government and Society fiVe

Leave a Reply

