Apple, Interrupted


 

“Hold on a minute!” [Foxconn employee runs onstage] “Mr. Daisey, how many workers did you actually talk to? Because I work at the Foxconn plant, and a lot of what you’re saying just isn’t true. I’m actually grateful to Foxconn and Apple for providing me with work. I don’t have any special skills, and without this plant, I wouldn’t be able to earn enough to support my family. The work is honest, it isn’t overly dangerous, and it’s giving me the chance to provide a better life for my family.”

[employee walks closer to Mr. Daisey] “We don’t have any children working in my section of the factory, and I haven’t heard of any working in other parts. Sometimes we Chinese look younger than we are to you Westerners, but don’t project your cultural bias onto us.” [turn to the audience] The guards at the gates don’t have guns- in China, only the military and government workers can carry firearms. And we don’t sleep cramped in dorm rooms. I go home at night to see my family, who I’m able to feed thanks to Foxconn.” [turns back to Mr. Daisey] “Before you go making up stories, why don’t you actually do some research, instead of pulling together stories that you’ve heard from other plants. I’m glad that Foxconn is here, and I’m happy to have a job.”

3 thoughts on “Apple, Interrupted

  1. I like this Steph! You did a great job of highlighting some of the positives of working at Foxconn, and your stage directions made it easy to picture the scene taking place.

  2. Steph! I think this one is overly optimistic about Foxconn. It’s true that Foxconn provides a good job opportunities to unskilled workers, even if the wage is far lower. But the role of the guards are very dubious because even without firearms, their main purpose may be to detain the workers from leaving the work in addition to keeping outsiders out. Several years ago, a fire broke out in one of a big manufacturing plant in my country and the guards locked the doors and coerced workers to put out the fire because the company management was afraid of possible legal actions against them. Overall, I think this piece will show the audience the other side of story and instigate curiosity about what really is going on at Foxconn.

  3. Nyein, you make some great points, and I admit that what I’ve written is rather overoptimistic. I was writing from a place of relative ignorance with respect to the actual working conditions of Foxconn employees, instead trying to focus painting a picture of Mr. Daisey’s lies, rather than Foxconn’s truths. If that came across as being laudatory toward Foxconn’s labor practices, that wasn’t my intent.

Leave a Reply

