Steve Jobs Interruption


Steve Jobs: Excuse me Mr. Daisy? What have you ever done to promote American industry? You think one trip to Foxconn makes you better than the rest of us? You feel able to pass judgement on American consumerism as if you’re not a part of it. Meanwhile, you sit back in your Hawaiian shirts made in China and gorge yourself on the fast food meals provided by minimum wage workers and have the nerve to criticize what I have built? I’m not saying that the conditions are ideal at Foxconn. I know its no walk in the park. But do I make the rules? No. Did I build that massive factory compound? No.

You say sarcastically “Its me against Apple. Who do you think is going to win?” You say this as if you are good and Apple is evil. If you are so good, Mr. Daisy, then why no call to arms for your listeners? Why not put more effort into making a change rather than just making a statement. By packaging, performing, and selling this little monologue act of yours based on their working conditions, you are profiting from those Foxconn workers just as much as I am.

7 thoughts on “Steve Jobs Interruption

  1. Awesome interruption. If Steve Jobs could have actually taken part in this retraction, I am sure he would have went off and immediately make Daisey look like more of an idiot than he already did. Great idea with the Steve Jobs perspective.

  2. Great choice of perspective. I think this is a really bold statement and has the desired affect of making Daisy out to be a hypocrite. If Apple had responded to Mr. Daisy’s claims, it would have been interesting to see what their stance would be.

  3. I guess this sum up the Apple’s view of Mike Daisey and his monologue. I guess Steve Jobs should have know the exact situation; so, very likely he would start by asking for actual physical evidence of his trip and meetings to back up his statement.

  4. I love the Steve Jobs angle. I like how you didn’t write a denial on Steve Jobs’s part, but instead had him challenge consumerism as a whole. As Ronjohn said, I think this is exactly the kind of stance that Steve Jobs and Apple would have taken if they could have voiced their opinions on the monologue.

  5. Pingback: Interruption – Steve Jobs Speaks | Business, Government and Society fiVe

  6. Hard-hitting.

    In the whole monologue, I think Mike Daisey might agree with some of what you say. Consumerism goes way beyond Apple products and Daisey acknowledges he comes to this story as a user and consumer and even Machead.

Leave a Reply

