Mr. Daisy and the Apple Factory Reaction


I found the podcast of Mr. Daisy’s experience in Shenzhen to be very powerful. Mr. Daisy is a very well spoken and talented storyteller, incorporating funny with serious tones. I had not yet heard of this Foxcom manufacturing plant ordeal, and was fascinated to learn about the conditions in Shenzhen. One of the most shocking parts was the nets that catch people who try to jump off the building and kill themselves. As Daisy says, if multiple people started jumping off a building to commit suicide at any company in America, there would be a huge uproar. This gave me an immediate picture of how poor the quality of life would have to be at this company. As Daisy dives deeper into more personal stories about the living situations at Foxcom, I became more horrified. I could picture the man’s mangled hand, could see the tiny beds in the dorms. However, I must say it is not all that surprising. Overseas labor has always been somewhat looked over but there have been instances of situations similar to this one.

One thing that really stuck out to me for some reason was the fact that there are cameras everywhere, even in the dorm rooms. It amazes me that these people are willing not only to live in a tiny concrete walled room in miniscule beds, but also allow themselves to be monitored at all hours of the day. It really is a little scary that this is somewhat futuristic like Daisy mentioned. I read the Hunger Games series a while ago, and this almost reminds me of the society that Suzanne Collins creates in the Hunger Games. It is a society that is constantly being monitored and worked too hard, living in poor conditions while the people who live in the Capital (which could be seen as America) live luxurious lifestyles and do not want to know what’s going on elsewhere.

I have a few questions I would like to look into or know more about when the podcast finished. Firstly, Daisy made a big deal about the 13 year old worker at Foxcom. I curious if she, or any Chinese children, had the option to go to school or if its mandatory. Her quality of life may have been better because Foxcom pays her well.  I would also like to know about the workers at Foxcom’s previous jobs and/or lifestyles prior to working at Foxcom. It is possible that Foxcom offers them a better life than where they were before. Overall, I  thought the podcast was eye-opening and well done, and I now will make a point to follow this interesting story.

4 thoughts on “Mr. Daisy and the Apple Factory Reaction

  1. Hooray! Lots of responses. Now go ahead and comment on others.

    “Allow themselves to be monitored.” THat is interesting. How much choice do they have? IS this like call center workers who have calls monitored? Or Wal-MArt or others requiring drug tests of peeing into a cup?

  2. I enjoyed your comparison to the Hunger Games series. While I haven’t read the books or seen the movie, I did watch a preview and always hear others talking about how much they like it, so I understand the plot. The FoxConn plant surely does seem similar in terms of what they stand for as well as in terms of the types of people it helps (those detached from the plant – consumers and high level Apple employees) versus the people that it destroys (the workers), and the cruel conditions that these workers are forced to endure.

  3. Jenna- I loved how you compared Mike Daisy’s monologue to the Hunger Games. Although I have never read the series, I know enough about it to understand the connection. It is hard to imagine living in a society that is so closely monitored, even though Mike Daisy describes actual human beings basically doing so.

  4. I like your question at the end about the younger workers and their option of going to school or not. Going to a great liberal arts school, we can sometimes be blinded by the fact that these young workers need to be the secondary source of income for their families instead of having to option to “better” themselves educationally.

Leave a Reply

